The R.O.U.S. of Weight Loss

Buttercup: We’ll never succeed. We may as well die here.

Westley: No, no. We have already succeeded. I mean, what are the three terrors of the Fire Swamp? One, the flame spurt – no problem. There’s a popping sound preceding each; we can avoid that. Two, the lightning sand, which you were clever enough to discover what that looks like, so in the future we can avoid that too.

——-

This came to my mind when I was thinking about my own journey through my personal “Fire Swamp” or “Fit Struggle” – same thing.

And we know that they even beat the ROUS and in the end they lived happily ever after.

I mustn’t think like the princess and give up hope, but like Westley!

I have already succeeded. I mean, what are the three terrors of the Fit Struggle? One, the weight spurts – no problem. There’s a popping sound preceding each (and accompanying flying buttons); I can avoid that by daily weigh-ins.  When we see a pound weight gain (that isn’t due to water weight or time of the month weight gain) then I just increase activity and cut back on the calorie intake until the pound goes away.

Two, the lightning sand, which being interpreted is “White Poison” in the form of white refined flour, white refined sugar and white refined salt.  So, in the future I can avoid that too.

Lastly, the  R.O.U.S  – Rations of Unusual Size combined with inactivity is a no-brainer: Eat less, move more!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKs0oEIVOck

Not rocket science!  🙂  I will be so proud of myself if I can end the year at 137.5 – my lowest point in 2012.  If I maintain my current weight until January 1st, I’ll still be 21 pounds down from January 1st of this year.  And I’m now less than I’ve been in 15 (or so) years!  Yeah!  I would really, really, like to be 133 – down 30 pounds.

Have fun stormin’ da castle!

Leave a Reply

