Lantern Light


We’d gather ’round the kitchen table
Evenings when the chores were through
Big brother reading Aseop’s fable
Pa working figures as farmers do

Duke on the rug for a mid-winters nap
Little brother tinkering on this and on that
Mama with sewing project upon her lap
Sister at her knee knitting a hat

Ma popped corn as a treat in the fall
I’d play on the bango- an epic folk song
Electric came, we began to sprawl
Ma called us back to the family throng

“It’s like were not a family any more”
She turned out the light and we gathered tight
And everything restored as it had before
Spending every night in the burning lantern light

Created for Magpie Tales
Inspired by one of my all-time favorite books:  Ben Logan’s The Land Remembers

15 responses to “Lantern Light

  1. I really like this. It probably speaks for hundreds of thousands of families around the world.

  2. Oh I loved this, a family gathering around the lamp. Just wonderful and so well written. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

  3. and then came TV…smiles. i remember those times by lantern light…on stormy nights…nice magpie!

  4. I want to join this little circle..it’s so warm and homey…thanks!

  5. happy life under the light,
    cozy and warm…
    Thanks for the enlightenment.

  6. And I imagine the conversations were long and the memories made irreplaceable. Very nice!

  7. Beautifully written, enjoyed it!

  8. I am old enough to remember nights like this ~ on my grandparent’s farm. Lovely memories and Magpie!

  9. Oh how I loved this…it reminded me of my mother’s lament when dryers replaced clotheslines “dryers make neighbors disappear as well as wrinkles”

  10. happiness is a sleeping tv…

  11. light at the center of the world, and the center of the family. nicely done.

  12. So true! A wonderful look at change and change! 🙂

  13. Beautiful slice of family life as it should be.

  14. The love of family…this is truly a beautiful poem! 🙂

  15. How beautifully nostalgic. Perfect. I just loved this Magpie.

    Mine is up.

    PG

Leave a Reply

