Why a blog? And Why “The Perfection Project”

I must confess I was inspired by The Julie/Julia project.  I loved the idea of a year long challenge.  It worked for Julie.  I figured it might work for me – sans the four-letter words or book deal.   At least it would lesson my chance of failure by some degree given that I would be too embarrassed to quit once I proclaimed my goals to the world.

I chose the title The Perfection Project because of Churchill’s quote, “To improve is to change; to be perfect is to change often.”  I don’t really think I’m going to be perfect on the 365th day, but it won’t hurt to try!

Reminds me of the story of the little boy with a handful of rocks that he was hurling into the air with great effort.  A gentleman happened by and asked the boy what he was doing.

“I’m trying to hit the moon,” came the reply.

The gentleman assured him, “Son, you are never going to hit the moon with a rock.”

Undaunted, the boy said, “Maybe not, Mister, but I’m getting closer than you are!”

Winston Churchill also said, “Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.”

This is my path to perfection, one failure at a time.  I don’t expect success overnight.  I believe one must have patience if one expects to see progress,real progress, the kind that can be weighed and measured and recorded and immortalized on a blog. Forever. For all to see for better or for worse, because just maybe it will keep me honest. 🙂

Which is why I chose to publicly proclaim and record my success and failures for the next 365 days as I take the road less buttered.
Perhaps I’ll leave behind a road map of success. Or perhaps just another sad cautionary tale.

If I fail, if I succeed at least I’ll live as I believe. . .

I’ll close with a couple of Les Brown quotes:

We don’t fail because we aim too high and miss, but because we aim too low and hit” ~ Les Brown

“Shoot for the moon, even if you miss you’ll land among the stars.”
 ~ Les Brown

Stay tuned for the unveiling of the goals. . .

Leave a Reply

